North Country Regional Economic Development Council

Updates and Activities of the NCREDC

Council Membership

The North Country Regional Economic Development Council is made of four parts: Council Members, Work Group Members, the State Agency Resource Team, and the Public.

Council Membership consists of two co-chairs, local and state elected officials, and private businesspersons. The Council Membership as of June 2016:

Tony Collins, Ph.D. President, Clarkson University
Garry Douglas President, North Country Chamber of Commerce

Kevin Acres Chair, St. Lawrence County Legislature
Rollin Beattie Supervisor, Town of Potsdam
Cali Brooks Executive Director, Adirondack Foundation
Joseph Butler, Jr. Mayor, City of Watertown
Reg Carter Executive Director, CITEC
Don Dabiew Chair, Franklin County Legislature
Larry Dolhof Chair, Lewis County Legislature
John R. Donoghue Delegate, Northeast Central Labor Council
Cathy Dove President, Paul Smith’s College
John Ettling, Ph.D President, SUNY Plattsburgh
William Farber Chair, Hamilton County Legislature
Kate Fish Executive Director, Adirondack North Country Association
Joseph Giroux Owner, Giroux’s Family Farm
Paul Grasso President, The Development Corporation
Scott Gray Chair, Jefferson County Legislature
Bridget-Ann Hart President & CEO, KPH Healthcare Services,Inc
Addie Jenne State Assembly, 116th District
Michele Ledoux Executive Director, Lewis County Cornell Cooperative Extension
Elizabeth Little State Senate, 45th District
James McKenna President & CEO, Lake Placid Convention and Visitors Bureau/Regional Office of Sustainable Tourism
Harry McManus Chair, Clinton County Legislature
Kylie Peck President & CEO, Greater Watertowner – North Country Chamber of Commerce
Randy Preston Chair, Essex County Legislature
Colin Read Mayor, City of Plattsburgh
Zvi Szafran President, SUNY Canton
Christopher Thompson Director, Office of Economic Development, Saint Regis Mohawk Tribe
Mark E. Tryniski President & CEO, Community Bank, N.A.
Donna Wadsworth Communications Director, International Paper Company – Ticonderoga Mill
Daniel Wilt President of Wilt Industries
James W. Wright Executive Director, Development Authority of the North Country

Work groups are chaired by one or two Council Members and address specific areas in the North Country economy. The NCREDC Work Groups are:

Clean Energy
Community Development & Local Government
Downtown Revitalization Initiative
Executive Committee
Global North Country
Higher Education & Research Development Consortium (HEARD)/ SUNY 2020
Innovation Hot Spot
Opportunity Agenda
Priority Project & Plan Implementation Committee
Priority Project Selection Committee
Project Pipeline
Public Participation
Regional Cluster & Advanced Manufacturing
Tourism Development
Workforce Development

The State Agency Resource Team consists of State Agency Representatives that serve our region. The council includes representatives from the following agencies:

Adirondack Park Agency
Council on the Arts
Dept. of Agriculture & Markets
Dept. of Environmental Conservation
Dept. of Health
Dept. of Labor
Dept. of State
Dept. of Transportation
Division of Homes and Community Renewal
Empire State Development
Environmental Facilities Corp.
New York Power Authority
Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic
Tug Hill Commission

Finally, the Public. We want to keep you informed on our work and will do so through press releases, updates on our website, Facebook page, and this blog, holding CFA Workshops, Public Forums, and Council Meetings that are open to all, and conducting surveys, among other activities. We also want to hear from you. If you have a suggestion or comment, visit our Contact page to see how you can contact us.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


%d bloggers like this: